What if you had an emergency measure that could help you stay in full control of your data, even remotely? Wouldn’t that be nice, right?
Well, there is such an option and it is called a Duress code. In this article, we will talk all about it and help you understand the ins and outs of it. Hopefully, it will help you better understand how to securely manage your data and how to protect it in case of an emergency.
What is a duress code?
A Duress code is a special security measure that allows you to protect your data in case of an emergency.
This code, when entered, will trigger an alarm or some other action that will warn systems or anyone else that something is wrong, in danger or exposed to significant risks. How is this related with digital communications and chats?
Well, let’s say someone tries to force you to open your Kraden app and show your chat history. That’s very alarming, because it might expose your confidential info, private property, thoughts, possessions or everything in between. What you can do is enter your duress code. On Kraden, this will immediately wipe your account and everything stored on your device and the server (if an immediate connection is available). Your chat history, shared data and everything that was on your account will be permanently, irreversibly deleted from existence without any possibility to restore it.
This is a very powerful measure, but it’s important to remember that it should only be used in case of an emergency. Also, make sure to keep your Duress code confidential and don’t share it with anyone else.
How to set up your duress code?
Setting up your duress code is a very significant part of being safe while communicating digitally. Whether you’re talking about confidential business deals, putting your reputation at risk or trying to keep something a surprise, it’s worth keeping your duress code in mind, just in case.
To use the duress code, when prompted with the lock screen, simply enter the duress code instead of your passcode. After that is done, you’ll need to set-up a completely new account and re-purchase a subscription.
To enable the duress code on the app, go to settings area.
Once you enter this code, the app:
- Will delete your ID and contacts.
- Will wipe every message on your phone.
- If an internet connection is available, it will also wipe your messages from the phones of other contacts.
- Will delete and remove all of your data from the server.
- Wipe your subscription code.
Only use it when absolutely necessary. Evaluate the risks associated and keep in mind that the action cannot be reversed.
So, in conclusion, the duress code is a preventative security measure that is used in case of emergency. A duress code is to be used during a moment when your privacy is threatened with compromisation. If such a risk arises, enter in your duress code to trigger an alarm, a warning or for Kraden users – to wipe your entire account, keeping your privacy intact.